An original Georgian pub dating from 1739.

Hidden away between Soho and Chinatown, The Blue Posts has existed here since 1739. We are privileged custodians of this historic tavern.

We have brought this iconic Grade II Listed public house back to life to create a Townhouse that has something for everyone to enjoy. We lowered the beer cellar to create a unique counter dining experience that is now Evelyn’s Table and restored the old store room on the first floor into a hidden wine bar,  The Mulwray.

People have been drinking here for nearly 300 years …

Craft beers & real ales

The Blue Posts is a freehouse specialising in British craft beers with rotating taps of independently brewed cask ales, alongside lagers and ciders.

Our passionate team at The Blue Posts embrace our freehouse status and enjoy selecting best in class up-and-coming brewers from John O’Groats to Lands End to have on tap.

This passion follows through to our spirit and cocktail selection. We also have an internationally minded wine list offering a sneak preview of the extensive offering from the upstairs wine bar, The Mulwray.

Our short bar snacks menu has been curated by Head Chef Luke Selby of Evelyn’s Table from his black book of the loveliest and locally sourced producer contacts. Featuring ‘London Cured Meats’, ‘A selection of British cheeses from Neal’s Yard, with Japanese pickles that have been pickled in-house’ and ‘Chicken Liver Parfait, Brioche’.

History of The Blue Posts

First mentioned ‘The Illustrated Handbook to London and its Environs’ , the street itself is named after Prince Rupert of the Rhine (1619-1682), German-English army officer, admiral, scientist and First Lord of the British Admiralty.

The street and the connecting Rupert Court were famed in the later years for being a spot for spectacle makers and coppersmiths. 

The blue post used to indicate where one would wait for their sedan chair home.